Skydrive Mapped Drive

Nice handy little tip.  I find I’m storing a LOT of my stuff on SkyDrive nowadays.  Its just so damn convenient being able to get access to my pics and docs from anywhere with an internet connection.  Being a bit of a Microsoft guy I naturally use SkyDrive which has 25GB of free storage.  I simply create a SkyDrive private folder as a “root cloud folder” then store everything in sub folders below that.  I add that root SkyDrive folder as a mapped drive so I can interact with it from Windows explorer as if its a local or network drive.  I find that’s much easier than using one of the browser based interfaces.  See this post for a nice easy to understand step by step on how to first associate your local Windows login with your Windows Live Id and then set up SkyDrive as a mapped drive.

This entry was posted in Tools, Windows. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

