Amazon Web Services : Migrating your .NET Enterprise Application

I’ve been getting into some AWS work in recent weeks.  Basically creating Windows based AMI’s so we can provision app servers quickly.  First thing I found with AWS was there is a lot of terminology to get your head around.  EC2, S3, Route53, VPC, Cloud Formation, Cloud Watch, Elastic IP, AMI, etc etc etc…

So being a bit bewildered I grabbed a few books.  Amazon Web Services : Migrating your .NET Entgerprise Application was by far the best.  Easy to read and it took me from the beginnings of creating an AWS account all the way through to creating my AMI’s.  Along the way there are a heap of valuable tips and discussions that help when making key strategic decisions on how to setup AWS.

At first I used this book as a training guide.  Each chapter built on the previous chapter.  Later I found myself using this book as a reference.  When making key decision I would refer back to discussions in relevant chapters for useful practical information.

All in all a top book that I highly recommend for anyone starting out with AWS.

http://www.packtpub.com/amazon-web-services/book

http://www.amazon.com/Amazon-Web-Services-Enterprise-Application/dp/1849681945

This entry was posted in BizTalk Server. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

