Windows Remote Shutdown

I run all my work on virtuals back at the office.  Often I’ll dial in via a VPN and do some work from home.  Just now I’ve gone to do some work and found that I couldn’t RDP to my virtual.  So I pinged it and all was good, then I remotely connected to the services and found terminal services had died.  After restarting the service still no joy.  I wasn’t going to make the 1.5hr round trip to the office on a Sunday night so decided to use the shutdown command that came out way back with Windows Server 2000.  Logging it here for future reference.
 
Simply enter the following,
Shutdown /f /r /m \\serverName
 
/f is to force shutdown and kill any apps that may be running.
/r is for restart
/m is for the target machine you want to shutdown
 
Beats driving into the office on a Sunday night!
 
 
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

